Republicans expand majorities in Iowa Legislature

DES MOINES, Iowa – Iowa Senate Republicans and Iowa House Republicans expanded their majorities in each chamber on election night.

Republicans in the Iowa Senate will hold a 34 to 16 majority when the 90th General Assembly gavels in for the 2023 session.

Republicans had a key pick-up in Senate District 1. Rocky De Witt defeated incumbent State Senator Jackie Smith, D-Sioux City, with over ten percent of the vote.

Democrats saw a victory in Senate District 14 when State Senator Sarah Trone Garriott, D-West Des Moines, defeated Senate President Jake Chapman, R-Adel, by 875 votes in a race where Iowa Republicans and Iowa Democrats collectively spent over $1.3 million.

Sign Up For Our Newsletter